Contacts + Resources

At RISD, students and faculty enjoy access to a wealth of services and resources for furthering research and studio practice. With general oversight from the Provost's Office and substantial input from deans and department heads, graduate program directors serve as primary points of contact for graduate students.

Degree candidates also work in close consultation with RISD's exceptional faculty on studio projects and issues related to research, scholarship and pedagogy. For grad students at the thesis stage, their committee chairs are invaluable sources of support and guidance.

Current students with program-specific questions should email their graduate program director (GPD). For general inquiries about admission or enrollment, email the Admissions team at admissions@risd.edu.

Office of Graduate Studies

The Office of Graduate Studies is an institutional navigation and information hub for students, faculty, and staff concerning all aspects of graduate study shared across departmental programs and divisions. The Office works closely with Graduate Program Directors and student leadership to facilitate graduate study and to support the graduate community at RISD.

Director, Amy Horschak: ahorscha@risd.edu
Assistant Director, Caroline Vasquez: cvasquez@risd.edu
401 454-6471

Graduate program directors

Architecture: Carl Lostritto

Bayard Ewing Building
archgrad@risd.edu

Ceramics: Katy Schimert (department head)

Metcalf Building
kschimer@risd.edu

Digital + Media: Shona Kitchen (department head)

CIT Building/Mason Building
skitchen@risd.edu

Furniture Design: Patricia Johnson

20 Washington Place
pjohns01@risd.edu

Glass: Jocelyne Prince (department head)

Metcalf Building
jprince@risd.edu

Global Arts and Cultures: Ijlal Muzaffar

College Building
imuzaffa@risd.edu

Graphic Design: Bethany Johns

CIT/Mason Building
bjohns@risd.edu

Industrial Design: Paolo Cardini

CIT Building/Mason Building
pcardini@risd.edu

Interior Architecture: Stefano Corbo

CIT Building/Mason Building
scorbo@risd.edu

Jewelry + Metalsmithing: Seth Papac

Metcalf Building
spapac@risd.edu

Landscape Architecture: Jacob Mitchell

Bayard Ewing Building
jmitch02@risd.edu

Nature-Culture-Sustainability Studies: Jonathan Highfield

College Building
jhighfie@risd.edu

Painting: Craig Taylor

Memorial Hall
ctaylor02@risd.edu

Photography: Stanley Wolukau-Wanambwa

Design Center
swolukau@risd.edu

Printmaking: Andrew Raftery

Sculpture: Taylor Baldwin

Metcalf Buidling
tbaldwin@risd.edu

Teaching + Learning in Art + Design: Paul Sproll (department head)

345 South Main Street
psproll@risd.edu

Textiles: Brooks Hagan

College Building
bhagan@risd.edu

Resources

Graduate Student Alliance

The Grad Student Alliance (GSA) is committed to fostering an interdisciplinary dialogue among RISD graduate students. The GSA aims to strengthen the larger graduate student community by hosting events and providing a platform for student-led initiatives. The GSA celebrates the diversity of studio cultures on campus by creating opportunities for students to meet and engage across departments, and serves as a liaison between the graduate student body and the RISD administration.

gsa@risd.edu

Center for Arts & Language

Offering academic support and advocacy for communication in academic, professional and creative contexts, the Center for Arts & Language (A&L) fosters student development and efficacy in three areas—written, spoken and visual communication; multilingual learning; and student publications. A&L offers peer tutoring, staff advising, workshops, online and print resources, and a community where all forms of language are welcome.

Fleet Library, 15 Westminster, 2nd floor
401 454-6486
artsandlanguage@risd.edu

Co-Works

Co-Works serves as an interdisciplinary fabrication lab and curricula incubator. Working with faculty and students to develop experimental courses and research, it offers a unique selection of digital and traditional making technologies and supports cross-departmental collaboration. Co-Works is committed to innovating strategies and building community for sharing ideas and resources across disciplines.

Fletcher Building, ground floor
401 709-8645
risdcoworks@risd.edu

Fleet Library at RISD

The RISD Library is a place for inquiry, inspiration and research, occupying the first and second floors of 15 West. There are collections of more than 150,000 books, exhibition catalogues and periodicals, as well as institutional archives, material samples, posters and clippings arranged by subject. The library provides access to a wide range of digital resources along with professional expertise and guidance.

15 West, 1st and 2nd Floor
401 709-5900
risdlib@risd.edu

RISD Global

Through online and on- and off-campus events and learning opportunities, RISD Global is a hub for discourse around global issues and the development and support of global learning. The office facilitates access to opportunities such as the European Honors Program in Rome, Wintersession travel/study courses and International Exchange options in 26 countries, as well as in the US and Canada.

20 Washington Place, 3rd Floor
401 454-6725
global@risd.edu

RISD Research

RISD Research sustains the school’s culture of inquiry by offering a platform for research initiatives; by providing opportunities for programming, training and publication; and by encouraging collaboration among students and faculty.

20 Washington Place, 3rd Floor
401 454-4972
research@risd.edu

RISD Careers

RISD’s career center offers a comprehensive program of one-on-one counseling, portfolio reviews, seminars and other targeted events aimed at helping undergraduates, graduate students and alumni translate their creativity into meaningful and rewarding careers.

Career counselors also offer support in entrepreneurial education and in the areas of grants, fellowships and residencies. Among its many helpful online resources, the Center manages ArtWorks, which connects employers with students and alumni for jobs, internships and other career opportunities. Reference the RISD Careers site for a full overview of online resources and available programming.

20 Washington Place, 1st floor
401 454-6614
risdcareers@risd.edu